Remembrance Day: Lest We Forget

On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month, Canadians pause in memory of the men and women who sacrificed their lives in military service – Remembrance Day.  Americans remember them on the same day, but call it  Veteran’s Day.

We also remember, with deepest gratitude, all those who served and, thankfully, returned. My Dad was one of those.

Alfred Primerano  1918 - 2000

Alfred Primerano 1918 – 2000

I only recall a few of his stories of WWII. My brothers likely remember a great deal more.

Dad was a sergeant in the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, commonly referred to as the Princess Pats.

He was in France at the war’s end.  While walking down a street in Paris, he saw another soldier across the street, in the distance, coming toward him. To his great surprise, when they were close enough to see one another, it was his oldest brother, Sam. They hadn’t seen each other since the war began.

I have three mementoes of that time: the photo above and two items he made while in training. Interestingly, crafts were included at the time. My mother passed them on to me and I am very happy to have all three.

My Mom and I

My Mom and I

He made them quite perfectly and they remain in excellent condition. Real treasures for me. My Mom sewed and knitted and Dad was a carpenter. I  obviously came by my love of sewing, quilting, knitting, crocheting, and other crafts from them. I miss them both so very much.

 

 

 

 

I have had a lot of questions about this craft, so have added enlarged photos, the better to see them. These are very narrow ribbons with less than one-eighth inch visible, all quite precisely. I’m guessing they may have been one-quarter inch wide before being woven. Excellently done. My Dad was a skilled craftsman.

14 Comments

  1. The skill it took to do this so well, boggles my mind, too. My Dad was an excellent craftsman and although he worked with wood, as a carpenter, and building homes, as well, his skill obviously extended to many areas. – Sorry, I have no idea about this craft. I will try and find out. So far, no one else has any mention of these crafts taught to soldiers being prepared for battle in WWII. You are right. It’s a shame to lose any skill.

  2. Thank you for posting the larger pictures, – now I am able to see the ribbons, and the work is really awe inspiring. I did try to follow the individual ribbons across the frame, but to figure out the weaving sequence is mind boggling.
    Do you know if this is a craft that is still being made? I always think it is a pity that so many skills are being forgotten as they are practiced less and less.

  3. I agree, Eldrid. Because of your comments and all of the questions I’ve received, I’ve added larger photos so that the ribbon weaving can be better seen.

  4. Wow, that is even more impressive. I have seen similar patterns made of matchsticks, – that’s what made me think this could be similar. But weaving certainly takes a lot more skill.

  5. He was, Anna, and so were your parents. I think of them so very often. Sending hugs.

  6. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment – and one which I appreciate very much.

  7. Thank you, Madeleine. 🙂

  8. Thank you, Nancy. Yes, now you know. 🙂 My parents were very creative people.

  9. Hello Eldrid.

    So good to hear from you. Thank you for your comments. – No, they weren’t made of sticks. They were very narrow, woven ribbons, and yes, very intricate. I think it took great skill to make them as perfectly as he did.

  10. How wonderful to have these mementos of your father. The picture frames are really special. It is hard to tell from the photos, but I guess they are made of narrow wooden sticks. Every bit as intricate as the most intricate quilt 🙂

  11. Nancy Payne-Olewiler

    Now we know where your talent and artistry *really* came from! This is a lovely tribute to your dad.

  12. Madeleine

    Thank you, Maria, for remembering the Veterans today. Your posting is a beautiful testimony of your love for your family.

  13. Janet

    A truly beautiful story and has tears running down my checks.

  14. Anna Maria Rydelek

    Uncle Fred was the BEST-Rest In Peace Love , Niece, Anna Mariaxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

