Book-A-Round 3: Day 4

It’s My Turn Today!

Welcome to Maria’s Quilt Scraps!

I’m excited and pleased to have you join us! For those of you who are visiting for the first time, allow me to introduce myself. I’m a quilter turned quilt and web designer, though nowadays, I’m only taking care of my own websites. I provide a venue for quilters to sell their work at my Quilts for Sale site. I’m a quilt teacher, having taught quilting online at QuiltCampus for a few years and to friends, as well. I went on to become the editor of a great, new, online-only magazine.  The Quilt Pattern Magazine  began publication in January 2011 and this  year, I traded my editor’s hat for that of editor in chief. I write for the magazine and submit patterns, too. I recently deleted my Maria Michaels Designs website to free up more time for quilting, and am slowly moving my pattern sales to Craftsy.comNow to the business at hand!

Introducing:

This is the third Book-A-Round in which I’ve been privileged to participate. I do so eagerly because Kay’s work, her patterns, and her books, are always created with great attention to detail and excellently done. To my mind, Kay Mackenzie, “Excellence,” and “Quality,” are all synonymous.

Scrap-Appliqué Playground is a wonderful addition to her previous 10 books and  the third published by Martingale. All of Kay’s past appliqué patterns are delightful. However, this time around there is an extra, added element of fun. And, I do mean fun! I thoroughly enjoyed making one of the patterns from Scrap-Appliqué Playground  and look forward to doing more soon. Turn Quilting Scraps into Fun Appliqué Fabrics is the subtitle of the book and it’s a very apt one.

Reasons for Loving This Book:

  • It includes 8 great appliqué projects. (You are going to find it very difficult to choose which to make first!)
  • Each pattern includes well-written, complete directions.
  • You will enjoy the accompanying, plentiful, photos and illustrations, all in glorious colour.
  • You’ll diminish you scrap fabric pile – a goal which we quilters are always striving towards.
  • You’ll have great fun while virtuously and creatively using your scraps.
  • You will be delighted with the finished quilt projects.
  • You will solve the “wonder-what-to-get” problem when gift-giving occasions come along.
  • You will enjoy Kay’s methods of using your scraps for appliqué (and the fact that there’s not just one way).
  • You will appreciate the full-sized pattern templates.
  • Did I menton fun? This method and Kay’s book and patterns are fun, fun, fun! 

Here is one of my favourite projects from  the book: Thank You, Teacher.

Thank You, Teacher is special to me for two reasons. The first is that it is an adorable gift for a teacher. The second is that, as a former grade school teacher, I know how much it will be appreciated. I was always pleased when my students shyly presented me with a shiny apple, thereby creating many a fond memories. Any teacher receiving this delightful, apple, wall hanging will have a tangible and lasting memory that will bring smiles whenever it is looked at!

If you get Scrap-Appliqué Playground immediately, you may have just enough time to make one for your child’s teacher. The only reason I use the word “may” is because school ending dates vary. Here, we have until the end of the month. Schools in other areas, I know,  can end sooner. However, if it does happen to be too late for the end of this school year, you can take your time and have gifts ready for the next one.

Here is another of my favourite projects from the book: Studio.

The cheery brightness; the crispness of the design; the way the reds, whites, and blacks, go together; the lettering that is so attractive; the scissors and spools of thread – all delight the eye! I immediately wanted to make one to hang in my sewing room.

Kay wrote: “I made this quilted design to hang in my sewing room, thereby elevating its status to a “studio.” If you make one for your sewing room, it can be a studio, too!”

That’s exactly what I did! I now have a sewing studio, too! I like Kay’s version much better, but at the same time, I’m very happy with mine. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to use up as many of my scrap fabrics as possible this year. I could have cut into my yardage. There’s no rule against it, even when working on scrappy designs. However, I decided to stick with my promise.

My background piece is an off-white and you’ll immediately see the difference that makes. I started on the lettering first and had so much fun following Kay’s technique of putting scraps together, that I made much more than was needed. When I looked at all of my leftovers, it occurred to me that they would make a good border. albeit of  irregularly-sized pieces instead of the regularly-sized ones in the original.

I made one other change as well. Instead of blanket-stitching around the raw edges (fusible web application) while creating the quilt top, I used a small zigzag stitch after making the quilt sandwich. That way, the stitches served the dual purpose of finishing the raw edges and becoming part of the quilting. Although the letters are backwards, it makes an interesting pattern on the back. For designs without letters, the effect would be pleasing.

One very funny thing happened while I was working on it. I had it spread across  my ironing board and every time I wanted scissors, I repeatedly began to reach for my appliquéd scissors and had to stop myself each time! Seeing them from the corner of my eye, I kept thinking they were the real thing! Here is a photo of my version, which now hangs on my “studio” wall.

A quote from Kay’s Introduction in the book:

“What could be more fun than using patched-together pieces for your appliqué? It’s the best of both worlds. Patchwork adds a twinkle of visual interest to appliqué motifs. It’s engaging, creative and full of wonderful surprises!”

She couldn’t have said it better! It is all of that! In fact, it can become downright addictive!

Ask for Scrap-Appliqué Playground at your favourite quilt shop, or purchase it from Kay, or purchase it at Amazon (Canada) or Amazon (U.S.)or from Martingale.

Can’t wait to get the book? No need to. You can get the eBook version at the  Martingale site and download it. Just be sure to check the eBook version instead of the book version.

Win a Free Copy!

To win a free copy, please leave a comment.
You have until 9 p.m. tomorrow, Monday, June 11th, EDT. (You are invited to leave comments afterwards too, but they won’t be eligible for the draw.)
I will assign everyone a number and use a computer-operated, random number generator to choose 1 winner.
The winner will be announced on either June 12th or 13th. Come back and look for your name.
Good luck to you!

For more chances to win, visit Kay’s site daily, click on the next stop on the tour, and leave a comment.


80 Comments

  1. It is! None of us will waste a fabric scrap again!

  2. I hope you do win during this BAR, Sheila. Do send photos of your projects once you get the book and make some. Would love to see them and post them here!

  3. They are definitely adorable! Sorry that you didn’t win here, Kathleen. The good thing is that you still have several chances left to win. Good luck!

  4. Scrappy quilts are my favourites too, Vera. 🙂

  5. Kay is so creative and has lots of great ideas. I have a feeling there are lots of Studio quilts being made!

  6. Glad you enjoyed it, Deb!

  7. It is definitely a great book for everyone who loves appliqué and everyone who wants to learn it.
    About the scissors, I’m glad I’m not the only one. 🙂

  8. This looks like a wonderful book! I can use all the help I can get when it comes to applique! Too funny about reaching for the applique scissors…sounds like something I would do!

  9. Deb

    Enjoying the Book-a-Round and thanks for the giveaway.

  10. nancy in IN

    Great ideas. I love the teacher quilt.

  11. love scrappy patterns /quilts. Love Kaye’s pattern books and have some of her books. Another one on my shelf will always be welcome..with more new ideas

  12. Wow, the apple and STUDIO projects are adorable. I’d love to win this book! Thanks for a great giveaway. 🙂

  13. Sheila Craft

    I’m really looking forward to getting this book to try out some of the great designs. Looking forward to (possibly) winning it, too!

  14. lee

    Great way to use scraps! thanks for the review of the book and giveaway!

  15. Gwen

    What a wonderful idea to make new fabric out of little scraps. I just happened to start looking through all my scraps and questioning why I saved them!!

  16. KPB

    Very cute concept and image ideas! Would love to try it out myself!!

  17. Kate

    Very cute, nice job on the Studio. Thanks for the chance!

  18. Jytte R

    The book looks so fantastic. The more pictures we see from the book, the more interesting it seems to be.
    Thank you for the giveaway.

  19. Michele T

    This book looks fantastic!!! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Great comments. Look forward to reading this quilting book

  21. Linda Malley

    I have only dabbled in quilting, but would love to learn more. I want to do the Studio quilt for my sewing room! And with all the scraps I have around, I’m sure there are more ideas I could use.

  22. Love your Studio sign! I need to make one for my office…Love to win a copy to guide me on my next project. Thanks for sharing…Judith, Texas

  23. This looks like a great book, and the apple picture is just too cute.

  24. nancy in IN

    Love the teacher small quilt. Would look good as a mug rug.
    Thanks for the ideas

  25. Annette

    What wonderful projects in this book. Looking forward to adding it to my library.

  26. I’m looking to add this one to my library. I love scraps and everything you make with them.

  27. Sharon Buford

    This book is on my birthday list – I so want to make the studio sign!

  28. Maria, thank you for participating in the giveaway. I’m going to have to make that Studio sign for my work room; it’ll make it official, right? lol

  29. I would love this book. I have always had this fear of applique. There are quilt patterns that I love and haven’t even tried because they contain applique. Last week for the very first time I added three stars to a quilt block! WooHoo! I am sure this book would guide me thru my fear!

  30. Karen H

    Maria, thank you for sharing your delightful review of the books. Both of the projects you shared look wonderful! I think I may just have to make my quilting room a “Studio” too. 🙂 I can’t wait to see the rest of the projects.

  31. Diann Cornell

    I agree that the apple for the teacher project is a winner.

  32. I would love to make some of these really cute projects. I haven’t tried applique yet, but this book looks like it would be easy to learn from. Thanks!

  33. Love your studio sign and this looks like a wonderful book!

  34. Kathy

    Oh I think this idea of scrappy appliqué is fabulous, love your studio sign, it would look nice in my sewing room. It would be nice to win, but I am glad that I am finding some new blogs to look at and appreciate all the wonderful ideas people have. Thanks!

  35. maggie avrit

    Love, Love, Love this book and all the great ideas. thanks for your ideas, too!

  36. Lisa Marie

    I would love to have this book and I would make the apple project first. It would be a gift for an aunt who is a teacher and has her kitchen decorated with apples. So cute!

  37. Carmela in PA

    Wow Maria how do you manage all you do Whew am just exhausted at how much you do! Just ordered a copy of Kay’s book and am looking forward to it!!

  38. Barb Colvin

    That is so funny about the applique vs real scissors! Just by comparing your version of Studio with Kay’s, I can see how easy it would be to make the designs my own.

  39. I certainly agree that Kay is an excellent designer. I’d love to have this book!

  40. Linda

    I look forward to trying this scrap applique. Hope I win

  41. Wanda

    Thank you teacher is adorable. The book looks wonderful.

  42. MarciaW

    Both the apple and your Studio version are wonderful. I like the way the patchworked scraps are used for the word applique. Thanks for the blog hop stop and the chance to win.

  43. Jan tjerne

    Both projects are beautiful. It’s nice to see fabrics using the same design. Love appliqué!

  44. Mary Brown

    What a wonderful way to meet new quilters, all over the place! I enjoyed reading about your work, and love your version of “Studio.”

  45. Douglas Oliver

    Your “Studio” is lovely. Thanks for the chance to win.

  46. Lline

    Wow! I have bags of scraps that I just can’t throw away. Now there’s a book just for all those little bits and pieces that are too big to throw away and too little to use in a big project. First thing to make is the ‘Studio’ sign. Thanks for the chance to win.

  47. Oknana

    Love the ideas in this book, would love to win and copy! Thanks so much for the opportunity to win! Very generous of you!

  48. It is fun to see all the different projects and ESP. To see your interpretation of the Studio quilt. Thanks for sharing.

  49. ruth

    My GD would love the apple. She is a teacher.

  50. I’m not a teacher, but I do love apple images. I love the both projects.

  51. I love what I have seen of this book so far. Thanks for the chance to win.

  52. I have this book and love it. It is great to inspire me to try my wings in creating something uniquely my own!

  53. I like how your version came out, that would be a fun piece to make for my sewing room and a great gift idea for my quilting friends.

    Debbie

  54. LeAnne L

    This book looks like so much fun. That studio sign is perfect for my wall.

  55. Brenda Cornell

    What a fun wall hanging. Coincidently, I am a elementary school teacher who transplated to Santa Cruz from Mississauga and live a couple of miles from Kay. I look forward to checking out your magazine.

  56. Kathy Lancaster

    Love the apple applique. bobkat1896@sbcglobal.net

  57. Anne-Marie Binet

    The studio sign will be my first project from this book! Thanks for this giveaway

  58. Karima

    I am writing to you from West Africa. I am Canadian quilter posted in Africa foe a while.I am an applique fanatic and i do lots of applique on Baby quilts. Loved all the ideas in this book.great work

  59. That looks so much like fun, I hope I win. Thanks for the chance, Maria!

  60. Sandra

    Love scrappy. Hope I win because I have lots of scraps

  61. love applique … love this book’s ideas for applique. love the idea that changing colors will change the looks. thanx for the chance to win a copy of this great book.

  62. candace

    I have enjoyed Kay’s applique designs as well as reading my online Quilt Pattern Mag. Thank you 😀

  63. BarbR

    I have enjoyed some of Kay’s other books. Her style is very happy. I especially love the apple. As a former teacher I would have truly enjoyed having it in my classroom all year long.Now I could give one to my quilt teachers. =!=

  64. That book looks like the answer to the pile of scraps in my “studio”. I would love to have a copy.

  65. usairdoll

    Love your Studio sign! Looks great! How cute is the apple wallhanging as well. So inspiring to see all the projects. Looking forward to seeing more.

    Thank you and Martingale for a great giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  66. Bonnie Larson

    I love the studio sign. I really enjoy applique, both needle turn and raw edge and would love to check out this book. Here’s hoping…..

  67. Carol J. Miller

    A delightful site.

  68. Barbara

    I think I would do the studio sign as my first project from the book…..so much nicer to have a STUDIO than a sewing room!! Thanks for the inspiration and the chance to win!!

  69. Your Studio version is lovely and very fun! I love that little apple quilt too. Kay’s work is beautiful and I can’t wait to sew some scraps together for applique. I want to read her special tips first though. I hope I win 🙂

  70. Judy

    I love both designs you have discussed today. Those scissors do look realistic. Thank you for the chance to win a copy of the book. I would love to have it.

  71. iris waite

    love the studio quilt i know more than one sewing that would love one as a christmas gift ffor there own studioo

  72. Maureen

    I am absolutely thrilled to have found this Book-A-Round. I’ve now found sites that I never knew existed which is the bonus even if I don’t win a copy of the Kay’s book. Thanks Maria for the chance at the give-away!

  73. Shirley Hammar

    The “A” word means some serious fun for me, can’t wait to try some scrappy fun. Your “Studio” plaque is great…love that border!~

  74. Donna Joy

    What a fun idea to use scraps to make new patchwork fabric.
    This s a must have book, I see sewing with kids in the future.

  75. Mary

    I love the ideas in this book as described by the bloggers. I love the apple you did. As a fellow teacher I think that would be cute to display the first month of school. I like your studio sign and I can’t wait to try one. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  76. Diane

    Love the scrappy look. Would love to win this book! Have many scraps to use up!

  77. Donna P

    I have enjoyed Kay’s book a round so far – I love what you’ve done with her Studio sign. A little color changes it completely – I love your color choices. Thank you for the opportunity to win!

  78. Cheryl C

    Oh, I hopeI win! Love the “Studio” design, too!

  79. LisaT

    I think both versions of ‘Studio’ look great and you’re right, the scissors do look very real in the photos and I can see why you’d grab for them. Thanks for the chance to win – great way to utilize your scraps!

Trackbacks

  1. Book-A-Round 3 ~ Day 4 : All About Applique

Leave a Reply

