Book-A-Round 2 . . . Inspired by Tradition

Welcome to my stop in Kay Mackenzie’s Book-A-Round, virtual book tour!

First, for tour visitors who are new to my blog, I will introduce myself. I’m a quilt designer who started quilting in 1985 and designing in 2001. I also teach quilting online at QuiltCampus. Last year, I was both privileged and excited to become the editor of a new, online only, quilt magazine. The Quilt Pattern Magazine debuted in January 2011. Click here to learn about it and to subscribe. I have also created a website where quilters have a special place to sell their quilts online – Quilts for Sale. To date, it represents 114 quilters along with their 508 quilts.


In fact, Kay was one of the first quilters to place a quilt on Quilts for Sale, and her quilt became our first sale! I am so pleased to be able to count Kay as a friend as well as a colleague.



Kay was recently a guest on Pat Sloan’s Creative Talk Radio. Did you miss it? If so, you can still tune in to listen to it – after you’re done reading this and have taken part in the draw, of course! (More on that later.)

Click on the cover photo to purchase an autographed copy directly from Kay.

It is also available through Amazon.ca and Amazon.com where you can view lovely photos of every design included in the book. Yet another choice is to purchase through Martingale® & Company.

If you have just joined this book tour, you can still go back and visit all the stops along the way. Click here for links to each day’s visit and to read everything you missed. Each quilter introduced a different aspect of Inspired by Tradition. – It began with a video presentation, then went on to point out the special features of the book, such as back basting, the designs, the CD with 5 pattern sizes to choose from and print for each block, using Kay’s designs for scrapbooking, methods of appliqué, and using brightly coloured fabrics.

A Sampling of Some of the Delightful Appliqué Designs



You will also enjoy the Appliqué Questions and Answers section of the book. Don’t think you have the patience? Having trouble with points? What to do if your fabric shreds easily? Those are some of the questions Kay is asked. Get the book and read the answers!

If you are new to appliqué and at all hesitant, this section will assure you that, yes, you too, can appliqué, and can begin enjoying the fun of creating these designs. Imagine how the addition of appliqué will enhance your quilts and open up new and wonderful possibilities! I highly recommend this book along with Kay’s first, Easy Appliqué Blocks: 50 Designs in 5 Sizes Experienced and beginning appliquérs will enjoy the patterns and the projects that can be made from them. Both will be a welcome addition to your quilt book library.

To win a free copy of Inspired by Tradition, leave a comment here by 10 p.m. (EDT) Thursday night. (There is only one restriction. Winning books can only be sent to Canadian and American addresses.) (Return visitors please note the change in this paragraph and in the sentence that follows, where I had made date errors. My apologies!)

Tune in Friday when I will announce the winner.

Be sure to visit Kay’s All About Appliqué page to get the link for the next, and last, stop on the tour!

77 Comments

  1. Peggy

    I just love applique and check out new books to see if I can improve my favorite methods.

  2. Marcia W.

    I want to learn how to applique and Kay’s book would be a wonderful reference to help me do this. Love the bird applique! Thanks for the giveaway and to The Patchwork Place for the book.

  3. Hi! The more I see this book, the more I like it! I am a die-hard appliquer, so I am really hoping I win a copy! I’ve crossed my fingers AND toes!
    Thanks for the giveaway,
    Take care, Leslie

  4. Donna Joy

    Wow what a great book, my mom would love this. Thanks for the giveaway.

  5. Sylvie

    I’m just getting into applique and have much to learn, I bet this book would be a must have for any quilter 😀

  6. Always looking forward to trying new applique patterns and this book sounds exciting.
    Would make a lovely addition to my collection.

  7. Marilyn

    This book looks like so much fun. I have done machine applique, but not any hand applique. I would love this book. Thanks.

  8. Linda Erickson

    This looks like a really great book with things that I’d love to try, so I hope to win!
    thanks!!

  9. Succumb to the temptation, Chris! 🙂

  10. I believe it will do the trick for you, Wanda!

  11. Chris

    I have never tried applique on quilting yet. It is becoming more tempting!

  12. vicki boschman

    I too appreciate the opportunity to be entered in a draw to win this book. It looks like a book I will cherish and use often on my applique journey. thank you

  13. Wanda Stenzel

    I would like to learn applique but have never had the patience to work on it. This may do the trick.

  14. Applique is becoming a new passion of mine. I have tried different methods and love to see how Kay’s recommends. Having so many possibilities in one book

  15. Jen

    I can’t wait to check out this book! I want to learn applique but don’t have the confidence or know-how. This book will change all that!

  16. This book looks awesome. I can’t wait to see who gets a copy, I hope I do. 🙂

  17. Nancy Sue

    I’m sooo intimidated by applique, but reading comments from people who have read and use her book in their active home libraries, the book sounds like THE “go to” book and like a keeper. Thank you for participating in the blog hop and organizing your giveaway!

  18. I’m just a newbie when it comes to applique and this looks really fun! I would love to win a copy of this book:)
    Laura T

  19. I love what I am seeing of her book, wonderful for small and large projects.

    Debbie

  20. Barb Colvin

    I love Kay’s first book! Thanks for the chance to win her new one 🙂

  21. Marcia W.

    I wish to learn how to applique and this sounds like a great book to help me with applique on quilts. Thanks for the opportunity to enter the giveaway. And, thanks to Kay and The Patchwork Place for the book.

  22. Jill

    I would love to win this book. I think it could greatly improve my applique abilities.

  23. MARTHA CIANOS

    Really looking to learn more about applique, hand and machine so would love to have this book!!

  24. Marti

    would love to win this book!

  25. candace

    I would just be overjoyed to win a copy of the book! Thanks for the wonderful review 😀

  26. Yes, I am very interested in winning a copy of this book. It look WONDERFUL.

  27. Barbara C

    This looks like a very interesting book. I’d love to win it.

  28. Sandy A

    Please count me in on the book give away. Love the blocks you posted pictures of. I am not that comfortable with applique and this sounds like it would surely help!

  29. Sandra Davidson

    I have really enjoyed learning all about this book and sure hope to win a copy. Blessings Sandra

  30. maryco

    What a lovely happy book. I hope I win – I love to make happy quilts.

  31. This looks like such an awesome book. Thanks for the giveaway!

  32. I’m a fairly newcomer to appliqué.
    Don’t ya think Kay’s book would be just the way to inspire and motivate me?
    Wonderful giveaway, btw.
    Hugs,
    Gerry

  33. DebrafromMD

    I’m loving this Book-A-Round and seeing all the different interpretations of the blocks from this book. Such eye candy!

  34. Mary B

    The on-line Quilt Mag. sounds interesting. Hope I win the book–I have lots of gifts to make.

  35. Thank you, Barb. I’m so glad that you like our magazine. We do make it a point to include at least one appliqué in every issue.
    I agree. This book of Kay’s is a definite must!

  36. That will be a darling quilt. I hope you’ll email both Kay and I a photo when you are done!

  37. Yes, Joan. You will definitely have to! 🙂

  38. BarbR

    First, I enjoy your on-line quilt magazine very much. I note that there is always applique available. Thanks for that. I am nuts about applique so this book is a must for me one way or the other. =!=

  39. Cindy O'Dear

    Would love to make a baby quilt for our new granddaughter using the puppy and kitty cat blocks that are in this book.

  40. I purchased Kay’s first book and I like what I see in this book. If I don’t win I might have to buy this one too.

  41. Thank you so much for being a part of this give-a-way! I have been enjoying the new-to-me blogs and the excitement that I MIGHT be a winner one of these times! Happy Quilting!

  42. I love so many of the designs in this book and hope to win a copy. Thanks so much.

  43. Barbara Mayo

    It has been so nice to visit the different blogs/site following Kay’s blog this past week or so. And, especially visiting you. Thank you for all the information you provide, and all you do! I love to applique and I am inpsired!

  44. Peggy

    I just love the small hanging blocks. I hope to win the book or I will be looking for it at the AQS quilt show.

  45. Hanna

    Your review is great! I wouldn’t mind a copy of this awesome book – full of inspiration! Thank you!!!

  46. Thank you, Nancy. Glad you are enjoying the tour ad that you’ve looked at the magazine.

  47. Michele

    This book looks fantastic – I love applique. Thanks for sharing.

  48. Nancy

    I have enjoyed your blog, and your new emagazine looks great. I would love to win a copy of Kay’s book. It looks like it would be a great addition to anyone’s library.

  49. lynn

    Great book – thanks for the free offer. I will check out your site and this site further.

  50. Good luck to you, Marcia, and to everyone hoping to win! 🙂

  51. Colleen

    I I love the look of her new book! Would love to try some of this applique. Thanks.

  52. Chris

    I have enjoyed this book tour! thanks for the review.

  53. Love your blog! I’d love this book – I love to applique and am always looking for new inspiration!
    Thanks.

  54. This book certainly looks like a winner.. I hope I’m a winner too 🙂

  55. Lyn

    Nice and informative review of the book! I hope I win a copy!

  56. I think, that as a beginner, you will be truly delighted with this book. It will get you started with lots of information and directions, and you will especially enjoy the delightful patterns. You can start with a very small project and do larger ones as you gain confidence. I’m planning to make a quilt from Kay’s designs in this book, too. When I do, I’ll post a photo here.

  57. Great review! Put my name in.

    Billie in TX

  58. Donna Pheneger

    Thank you for reviewing Kay’s book – the fact there’s a help section is a wonderful thing since I am a beginning applique quilter!

  59. Sue

    Another interesting blog for me to follow – this has been so much fun! Hoping to win a copy of this book – Sue in Florida

  60. Darlene B

    This looks like a great inspirational book – full of ideas! I would love to win this book!

  61. I would love to win Kay’s book! Thanks for the chance!

  62. Clearly, this book is a “must have”!! What a great give-away opportunity. Thank you very much. ~karen

  63. Deb G. in VA

    Kay’s new book looks wonderful! I would love to win a copy! Thanks!

  64. You are right. It is definitely a must-have book! I’ll be choosing the winner by random generator tonight and announcing the winner tomorrow.

  65. Thank you, Kelly. Let me know what you think of it afterwards. Comments, questions, and suggestions are welcome.

  66. Carol – There are 11 pages on back-basting and hand stitching. It won’t just nudge you. It will definitely get you going! 🙂

  67. It is definitely a great one, Kathy! You will love the CD.

  68. If you don’t win it, Pat, order it! You won’t be disappointed. I hope that tour visitors will visit quiltsforsale.ca to view your beautiful quilts.
    Hope you are thoroughly enjoying The Quilt Pattern Magazine!

  69. VickiT

    This is a must have book from all I’ve read about it so far. I LOVE the print feature in any size you want without having to go to a copy center to get them done. Fantastic idea.

  70. Kelly

    Thanks so much for the opportunity to win this book! I’ve been following the blog tour trying to increase my chances of winning!

    I will check out your online magazine when I get home tonight!! It sounds very exciting. midnightsewin at yahoo dot com

    Kelly

  71. Lou Ann

    Thanks you for giving us this chance and the place to get it if we don’t win it. That looks like a staple for everyone’s library!!!

  72. carol d

    I have wanted to learn back basting; I hope this book might nudge me into action ;grins ..when I win…more grins. Thanks for the chance.

  73. kathy h

    This book looks like such a great one. I love that there is a cd so you can pick the size block you need. No figuring out how to enlarge or reduce. Thanks for the chance to win a copy.

  74. Pat Castonguay

    Would love this book. Have quilts listed on quilts for sale and receive the new pattern magazine already.

  75. chava davis

    The book looks very intresting and beautiful. Gook luck to you.

  76. Darlene

    Lots of learning and great possibilities with this book.

Trackbacks

  1. Book-A-Round 2 ~ Day 9 : All About Applique

Leave a Reply

