Welcome to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour!

It’s a real pleasure to have you visit! A warm welcome to visitors both regular and new!

It Is exciting, to be part of this Blocks Tour! Learning that Fusion – #173 – was chosen to be included among all of the wonderful blocks in this special Collector’s Edition was quite a thrill! I’m still excited about it! Even more excitement – you have an opportunity to win one of the 100 Blocks made including ours. There are many other great prizes to win as well. Read on to find out how.

Block #173 - Fusion by Maria Michaels Designs



Followers of my newsletter and blog already know that Maria Michaels Designs is a partnership between my husband and myself. He’s the artist and I’m the quilter. Several years ago, I realized that his art work and numerous geometric designs would make interesting quilt blocks and quilts which is how I started into quilt designing. Later on, I began including designs of my own but many of our quilts continue to be based on his creativity. Fusion is just one example.

Within a few months, I started my Maria Michaels Designs newsletter which, at first, was just an ordinary text email message that was sent out monthly. Later, I put it online and simply sent out links to it each month. Recently, my newsletter changed once more – this time to a blog which is lots of fun but challenging to keep up with, I must admit.

One thing led to another and, realizing that quilters needed a venue for quilt sales, having learned web design to set up our first site came in especially handy for creating another one where quilters and buyers could come together. You will love the “eye candy” at Quilts for Sale!

Most recently, I have become the busy editor of the soon to be published (January 2011) online only, The Quilt Pattern Magazine. We are quite excited about it and are thoroughly enjoying working with quilt designers and writers! Visit us by clicking on the logo on the upper right of this page.

Back to Fusion!

This block, when repeated, creates interesting secondary designs. Three of many of the possibilities follow. Of course, the block can be used to make any size quilt or project you may desire – table runners, tote bags, bed or lap size, wall hangings, are just a few examples.

Fusion - Sample 1

Fusion - Sample 2

Fusion - Sample 3

I’d love to see photos of the ways you may choose to use this particular block. Please send them to me at info@mariamichaelsdesigns.com and I’ll be happy to share them here too, with your permission.

Last, but not least, there are prizes to be won! Here’s how:

1. Visit Maria Michaels Designs and Quilts for Sale, then leave a comment here including the name of your favourite quilt(s) on each and I will choose one name via a Random Number Generator to send to Quiltmaker. The winner will be sent a free issue of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks!

2. Also, there will be lots of giveaways at Quiltmaker’s web site during the week. Click here to learn all about them! “Some will be planned and some will be spontaneous. Fabulous prizes of fabric, patterns, books, notions and of course, copies of 100 Blocks.”

3. Using the same method described above in method #1, I will choose another winner to receive our Santa Stocking pattern.

4. Visit all of the other blogs on this tour and enter to win at each and every one of them! If you have just joined in, you’ll find them all listed here.

To purchase an issue of this special magazine, click here!

Can’t wait to have an issue mailed to you? Click here to buy the digital version!

Thank you for visiting Maria’s Quilt Scraps!

Good luck in winning a prize!

Have lots of fun on this Tour!

Maria

72 Comments

  1. On Quilts for Sale site, I like Flower Garden. Thanks for the chance!

  2. Favorite on Maria Michaels Designs is Scrap Fest. I love scrap quilts.

  3. I love your pattern Valencia, it is beautiful. In the for sale quilts it was a tough decision but I really like the quilt by Nancy Wieler.

  4. raebeth

    The UFO Quilt is a great project at Maria Michaels. The Flower Fairies at Quilts for Sale is very beautiful to look at.

  5. My favorite is the Canadian Flag Banner ( I have a Canadian daughter) and the Blooming Star.

  6. Nancy B from Many LA

    On Maria Michaels Designs I like the “Focus on Fabric” design, and on Quilts for Sale, I really like the Plaid Thanksgiving Silhouettes!

  7. Maria, you are an amazing & inspiring person with your hand in so many different business adventures. Your quilt designs are fantastic. My favourite is the wall hanging found on Find A Quilt Pattern named the Canadian Flag.

  8. I liked your Valencia pattern. My favorite quilt for sale was Circling Batiks by Nancy Wieler.

  9. I really love your fusion block- it is very pretty- Thanks for the opportunity to win such a nice prizes.
    I really like the Circling batiks by Nancy Wieler.
    Regards from a Western Canadian quilter,
    Anna

  10. Quilthappy

    On your Quilts For Sale site I just loved Katherine Gardner’s Storm at Sea quilt. On your site, it was the one with the four angels.

  11. MoeWest

    Congrats on being in the magazine! In your quilt patterns, I like the Canadian Flag wallhanging. On Quilts for Sale, I like Leaves In Harmony by Susan Ruiter.

  12. I love your block, it´s beautiful. Congratulations on having your block in the magazine! I love Starbursts and Diamonds pattern and the Tennessee Waltz quilt.
    Alda, Fl

  13. Nancy Sue Phillips

    I loved Nancy Wieler’s circles and Scrap Fest with Sashing.
    nsue21702 at gmail dot com

  14. Georgette Mitchell

    I love the Focus Fabrics design and then the hankerchief quilt.

  15. julie W

    I like focus on fabric and bargello cosmic twist

  16. Congratulations for being included in 100 Blocks. I love plaids in quilts and your quilt Thanksgiving Silhouettes is charming … and my favorite.

  17. SewLindaAnn

    In the Quilts for Sale I fell in love with Floral Windows. It is so beautiful.

  18. Limbania O

    My favorites are:
    Starbursts and Diamonds
    Circling batiks by Nancy Wieler.
    I also like the second example to use your beautiful block.

  19. SewLindaAnn

    In the quilt patterns I liked The Colors of Christmas. I was seriously intrigued with the mushroom embroidery too.

  20. Linda (Petey)

    I loved Scrap Fest with sashing. So many others are winners too.

  21. VickiT

    Congratulatioms on getting your wonderful block in the magazine. I really like your The Colours of Christmas pattern. What a great thing to have you and hubby working together on your quilt site.

  22. Beth B

    I like “Focus on Fabric” and “4 Patch Stacked Posies”.

  23. Jeanne

    I like Scrapfest and Applique Tulip. Thanks for the chance to win.

  24. Donna Whittle

    I like the “Focus on Fabric” pattern at Maria Michaels site, and am still deciding whether I prefer the quilt of Nancy Wieler’s or that of Marie Oberholzer’s.

  25. Deb

    The Colors of Christmas on the MM Designs site and on the Quilts for Sale site I like Bountiful Harvest. I would love to win one of the 100 Blocks books.

  26. Ann

    I love Scrap Fest and Golden Delicious.

    Thanks for the giveaway

  27. Lina

    I love Quilter’s Tree Ornaments and Feedsack Fan. Thank you for the giveaway.
    snuginmyden@yahoo.com

  28. SheilaC

    I love Colors of Christmas and My Little Chickadee

    Thanks for the give away

    SheilaC

  29. Marcia W.

    These were difficult choices. From Quilts for Sale: Tennessee Waltz Quilter Sue Mitchell 87×105
    From your family’s site: Focus On Fabric
    Please enter me into your giveaway drawings. Thanks. alternate email mlwright29 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  30. Kathy

    My choices are:
    MMD- Valencia
    Sale Quilts- Asian Window

  31. Debbie in WA

    Wonderful block to use with my aviation theme quilts
    Many thanks

  32. Bunny Waterworth

    Re Blog Day 3: I like the fusion #137 & in Quilts for sale the quilt called Orchid.

    Hope this is the right way to do it!!

    B

  33. Karen W.

    Sunbursts and Diamonds and Thanksgiving Silhouettes. Thanks for the giveaway.

  34. Kathleen B

    I like the Prisms Block on your website. Thank you for participating. Kathleen

  35. I like Scrap Fest (but the Iron Slipper is a goodie too). Tennessee Waltz appeals to me most of the New Sales Quilts. Also want to say that the middle block of Santa’s Visit is just adorable. I wonder if he’ll be pulling something out of there for me from you?

  36. Tea

    Congratulations on being in the issue and hosting the give away. I like tribal log cabin.

  37. Kay Mc

    I liked the Valencia pattern on your site & on the quilts for sale I liked the fan quilt by Maria Oberholzer.

  38. Chris

    I love the Scrapfest quilt! Thanks for the giveaway!

  39. Colleen

    “fall beauty” is stuning! Thanks!

  40. Julie in WA

    Oh, how I love the Snow Angel quilt! It brings me right back to my childhood in Minnesota…

  41. I liked the Burr Oak on Quilts for Sale, and The Colors of Christmas from Maria Michaels. Thanks for sharing a block on 100 Blocks.

  42. Bernice

    The Golden Delicious quilt by Inge Baum is amazing. I also liked Scrap Fest because I’m partial to scrappy quilts.

  43. i like Valencia and My Stars.

    billie

  44. Patricia S

    Your Fusion block is gorgeous! I love paper piecing so I was particularly drawn to your beautiful Valencia Pattern…it’s just lovely! Thanks for the chance to win!

  45. Darlene

    Don’t have kids but my furbabies would love to dig for catnip in Santa’s stocking.

  46. Darlene

    I liked the Easter Egg tablerunner and Nancy Weiler’s quilt. 30’s fabrics are my thing.

  47. Janis

    I like the Christmas log Cabin and My Stars.

  48. Cecilia

    My favorite on Maria Michaels website is The Colours of Christmas. On the Quilts for Sale site I really liked the Valentine Shoo Fly. Thanks for the giveaway.

  49. ann

    I like the colors of Christmas on Maria Michaels and I also bargello cosmic twist on quilts for sale

  50. Scrapfest and My Stars.

  51. Focus on Fabric is my favorite at Maria Michaels Designs and Circling Batiks at Quilts For Sale.
    Thanks!

  52. Linda

    I like the scrapfest quilt. Thanks for the giveaway.

  53. kmseman

    please include me with the giveaway

  54. I like Mod Quilt and Scrap Fest quilts. Thanks for the chance to win:)

  55. Annette Plitman’s quilt for sale has my favorite colors. And Valencia is my favorite pattern, stunning!

  56. SuzK

    I really like the Focus on Fabric pattern and Evelyn Townsend’s Fall Beauty is breathtaking. Congratulations on being part of this issue.

  57. Gwen

    I like the cosmic bargello twist and the colours of
    christmas. Love your designs.

  58. Lureen Cardish

    Dear Maria, I loved your fusion pattern and what a wonderful variety of placements. your colors are great.

  59. My favorite is scrap fest…love it!
    Congratulations on having your block in the magazine!
    I really like how the secondary patterns appear with this block!

  60. Donna Joy

    Favorites for Maria Michaels designs: prisms
    Quilts for sale: blooming stars.
    Your block has so many possibilities, it will be fun to work with.

  61. Marianne

    How to choose with so many beautiful quilts. I love quilts for my grandchildren so I will go with Snow Angels and Mittens, Mittens and More Mittens. thanks for the site.

  62. LouAnn

    My favorite quilts are:
    @ Maria Michaels Designs: Starbursts and Diamonds
    @ Quilts for Sale: Bloomin Flowers

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  63. Lisa England

    I like the pattern “The Colours of Christmas” and the quilt “Bargello Cosmic Twist”. Glad I found your website. (I think my earlier post was in the wrong spot)

  64. I love the Country Thrift – Pink quilt & Starbursts and Diamonds pattern!

  65. “Fall Beauty” truly is beautiful!

  66. super cute, would love to win a copy of the magazine, thanks

  67. Love the Scrapfest – I love scrap quilts and My little Chickadee (love her birds)

  68. My favourite quilt on Maria Michaels designs is the colours of Christmas quilt, and on the quilts for sale site is the double wedding ring by Elizabeth Ralph.

  69. Gill watson

    I love The Colours of Christmas and Tribal Log Cabin
    Gill

  70. Deb

    I love The Colours of Christmas and Chocolat Roses. It was so hard to choose…so many beautiful quilts.

  71. Kim

    On Quilts for sale I like “A Christmas to remember” and on Maria’s I like “Starburst designs” – your block is nice- love the second layout!

  72. Wyo Di

    I’m partial to your Circling Batiks

Leave a Reply

