Book Review: Dolls and Dresses to Appliqué

Dolls & Dresses to Appliquéis another wonderful book by Kay Mackenzie that you will want to add to your collection, own, and use!

<b>Dolls & Dresses to Appliqué</b> by Kay Mackenzie

Dolls & Dresses to Appliqué by Kay Mackenzie

This one will be fun for all quilters and for the children in their lives, too.
Can’t you just imagine the fun of choosing fabrics for their clothes and creating many different looks? This could easily become addictive!

Kay’s books are always beautifully done. This one includes full-sized patterns for 12 dolls, each one in a different set of clothing styles. They each have names, too: Kit, Penny, and Marie are just a few.

Colour samples of one block quilts are included along with a child size quilt with all 12 dolls. This size would also make a very appealing wall quilt for a child’s room.

Appliqué lovers will welcome Kay’s latest book and those new to appliqué will soon become appliqué lovers. Directions for machine appliqué are included in the book but you can use your favourite method.

Click here to buy Dolls & Dresses to Appliqué!

To win a copy of this book simply leave a comment. Bonus! This book has been autographed by Kay!

A Random Generator will be used to choose the winner on April 10th, 2010. The winner will be announced in the following week.
Sorry, we can only accept entries from readers in Canada and the U.S.

Cover: Soft
Pages: 24
Publisher: Kay Mackenzie
ISBN: 978-0-9725852-8-6
Price: $15.95

22 Comments

  1. Janet – You were a very creative child. Good luck on winning this one for you!

  2. Thank you for your congrats, Louise. Creating these quilts for your lovely dollhouses is a great idea. Email me for a few more ideas I’d be happy to share with you.

  3. Hi Barb. Kay’s book brought back my memories of playing with paper dolls, too. I used to love making new paper costumes for them, too. You are right – the doll patterns would be a good way to use up scraps and it would be fun deciding on which to use.

  4. Hi Pat! I think that Kay’s book would hook you on appliqué immediately. 🙂

  5. Yes, Janet. It most certainly would! How lovely to have 6 granddaughters!

  6. Hi Michele. – I love Kay’s books too and heartily recommend each and every one of them. 🙂 I’m sure your nieces would love quilts made from the designs in this book!

  7. Janet

    I have played with paper dolls all of my childhood. My one neighbor had all of the old Ladies Home Journal ( I believe) with Godey’s paperdolls which she gave to me when I was in grade school. I made them houses from shoe boxes and wallpapered them with designs drawn on notebook paper and crayons. I would love to have this book for ME!

  8. Karima Dawood

    I would love to learn more about different applique techniques and this book looks like a great start.

  9. Nancy in IN

    Wow, my granddaughters would like for Nana to dress their dolls. I love to applique; a perfect fit.
    Thanks

  10. Maria, the last comment was by me…Louise. Forgot that I have such a weird ID.

  11. Congrats on your interesting blog, Maria. The photos are beautiful. If I win this book, I might even get into applique. Perhaps I could reduce the size to make a quilt for my dollhouse. 🙂

  12. still hoping – eyes and fingers crossed –

  13. Barb Mercredi

    This sounds like a really interesting book. I played with cut-out dolls as a child and loved dressing them. As a grandmother with 8 grand-daughters I am sure they would love them (at least the younger ones). Also would be nice for them to play with during the long winter months when they have to stay indoors. Would use up lots of scraps to I would imagine to make clothes.

  14. Pat Castonguay

    Would love the book. Love dolls and am beginner at applique

  15. wonderful book… i would love to make this!

  16. Absolutely, Janet! I can just picture 6 different quilts made from the patterns in this book. They’d definitely be loved!
    Maria

  17. Janet

    I have 6 granddaughters! Wouldn’t this be a lovely book to win to make quilts from!

  18. Marlene,

    The book will definitely give you ideas for dresses but it is a book of quilt patterns, not doll patterns and as such is simply delightful.
    Good luck!
    Maria

  19. I have two nieces, this would be perfect to make something for them. I too love Kay’s books.

  20. Marlene Giese

    I do dresses for gently used dolls to give to little girls at Christmas. This book looks like it would be very helpful in doing that.

  21. I can see that it would be.
    Thank you for entering Neelia and good luck!
    Maria

  22. would love to win a copy of this book – I make dolls for the crisis center – and this would be a wonderful asset.

Leave a Reply

