Making a Baby Quilt – Step 4: Layering and Satin Stitching

I am using the Betty Cotton method of quilting first and sewing the blocks together last.

This particular method is from her second book for use with already made quilt blocks.

Here are two of my appliqué blocks layered. After layering them, I sewed a loose satin stitch around the raw edges of the appliqués. I chose to do this after the layering because this way the satin stitches become the quilting stitches as well. It has the added benefit of not needing a stabilizer as the batting and backing provide enough stabilizing.


Below is one of the blocks that will alternate with the appliquéd blocks. As previously mentioned, I am designing this quilt as I go along rather than ahead of time. Once the appliqué blocks were all done, it was time to think of the design for these. I thought of Four Patch and Nine Patch blocks, then decided on using strips. Next, I had to think of what colours to use and I felt that repeating the colours used in some of the appliqués would be a good idea. I then decided that three of the four strips would be equal in size and one should be smaller. Why? Just to be different. 🙂 Mind you, that narrow strip will barely show once the blocks are sewn together.

I am using Valdani threads for the first time and really like them. (I’ll do a review on them in the near future.) I chose the variegated cotton quilting thread and decided to use it in the bobbin as well to add interest to the back of the quilt. This is the first time I’ve satin stitched with quilting thread and I like the effect of the changing colours. However, my software doesn’t seem to be doing a good job of capturing my images right now so these photos are not as good as I’d like them to be. I’ll have to see what can be done about that, for future photos.

Here is how the embroidery/quilting stitches look on the back of the alternate blocks.

All of the appliqué patterns are from Kay Mackenzie‘s Easy Appliqué Blocks.

Leave a Reply

