Bloggers Quilt Festival

What a great idea, and what fun to take part in this blogger’s quilt festival hosted by
Amy of Park City Girl. Particpants have been asked to write about their favourite quilt. Although I always find choosing just one favourite difficult no matter what the category, I’ve finally decided on this one.

qstarburstssullivansThis quilt is Starbursts and Diamonds. Way back in 2001 when I decided to become a quilt pattern designer, this was the first I designed. My inspiration for designing was, and still is primarily, my husband and his art. One of the things he enjoys drawing are geometric designs. He always seems to colour them in interesting and unique ways. I took two of them, made them into quilt blocks and combined them for this pattern. My original was made in solid fabric colours and thereby reminiscent of Amish quilts.

din400pI created and uploaded my website in January of 2002 and within a few months was contacted by Miniature Quilt Ideas Magazine. I was thrilled to be asked to send them this quilt to be photographed along with my Dinosaur Fantasy Quilt which was my composite of several of my husband’s drawings. To our delight, the magazine gave us a full page feature in their Spring 2003 issue.

Later, Sullivans USA asked for pattern submissions to be considered for making with their Versatiles fabric line and to be displayed at their booth at the International Quilt Market that year. We were thrilled again! Starbursts and Diamonds was one of the patterns chosen. I made it again with this wonderful fabric line creating a stained glass jewel effect. Done, as shown above, in these fabrics, it remains one of my favourite quilts, one that I cannot part with. It hangs in my office where I never tire of seeing it daily.

Be sure to visit all of the other quilt bloggers participating in this exciting online Quilt Festival every day between now and April 24th!

19 Comments

  1. Thank you, Ariane! I’m so glad that you like it and that you took the time to let me know. πŸ™‚

    Maria

  2. I love this quilt. Beautiful!!!

  3. Highway Cottage – Thank you for putting a big smile on my face today. I appreciate your compliments very much.

    Maria

  4. Lou Ann,

    Yes, it is fun to be able to work with my husband. He is always there when I need advice or a critique, or colour suggestions, etc. His art degree and art teaching experience are great bonuses to me! He’s inspired me to create my own designs, too.

    How very nice to know that you have found the pattern intriguing. Thank you!

    Maria

  5. To The Quilt Rat πŸ™‚ thank you! This really is a great festival. Amy has started something big and truly wonderful!

    Amy – thank you for your kind comments, too. Thank you most of all for creating the Bloggers Quilt Festival. What a tremendously, fantastic, wondeful idea. Thanks to you an amazing number of quilters have come together to enjoy lots of “eye candy.” It’s such fun seeing the quilts and extra special to read the stories behind them. It seems that every quilt made has its own interesting story!

    Maria

  6. Penny G.

    I like the way you put that – and thank you! πŸ™‚

    Maria

  7. Janet,

    Good idea! Geometric designs make great patterns. I hope you’ll share photos when you make yours. I’d love to see them!

    I appreciate your compliment. Thank you!

    Maria

  8. I did a project with my Geometry class on quilt designs and I thought of using some of them as patterns. Now I think I might actually do it after seeing yours. The one I really like is pink and green and the student called it “Twisted Lily.” Both of your quilts are amazing.

  9. highwaycottage

    Wow, love both the quilts youve’ shared with us. The geometric one is stunning, and the dino one is really cute.

  10. That design on you website has always intrigued me, and now you have given us the background of Starbursts and Diamonds. Isn’t it fun when your husband enjoys what you do as much as you do? Thanks for sharing.

  11. Love those stars and diamonds! I’m a little partial to diamonds myself πŸ™‚ The colors are so vibrant – great work! And the dinos are really cute – congrats on your success and thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  12. The quilt rat

    Congrats on the inclusion to the magazine.very exciting!
    Great quilts enjoy the festival.

  13. Penny G

    Diamonds are a girl’s best friend and you even gave them starbursts to light them up. Great job.

  14. Thank you all for your comments. I appreciate them very much.

    Hope everyone stopping by here visits Zonnah, Eldrid, and Kay’s stops on this Bloggers Quilt Festival, too.

    Maria

  15. kaymac

    That’s such a cool design, and a beautiful story of how it represents the partnership between you and your husband and the origins of your career.

  16. I remember this quilt from when I first visited your website. I always liked the intricacy of those stars.

  17. Very lovely quilt. Congrats on the patterns.

  18. I love the Starbursts and Diamonds quilt. It is so beautiful.

  19. Mary on Lake Pulaski

    Lovely quilt and so nice to hear the story behind it and the collaboration between you and your spouse on your work.

Leave a Reply

